uncorking?

Black Panther/Street Moto, Baghira, Enduro, Mastiff, Skorpion Traveller and Tour.

Moderators: DAVID THOMPSON, phlat65

uncorking?

Postby e » Mon Dec 12, 2005 6:24 pm

I'm a newbie to dualsport/enduro bikes. That said, I read a few different things on the net about "uncorking" various bikes.

I take that to mean that the stock exhaust and intake are too restrictive. The Baghira seems pretty peppy to me...but I thought I should ask anyway: Does the Baghira need uncorking?

Thanks,
e
e

Postby phlat65 » Mon Dec 12, 2005 10:52 pm

not really. a pipe and jetting will get you a few HP, but not much....
2001 MZ Black Panther
2001 Suzuki RM125 (full Enduro)
Old Hondas- TT500 Ascott, 305 Dream Touring
phlat65

Postby e » Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:27 am

thanks. :D
e

Postby roge-a-billy » Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:10 pm

Dynojet do a re-jet kit for the XTZ660 Yam' carbs, about 88 English pounds. That with a better pipe and opened up airbox, set up properly would do it a world of good. All depends how much you want to do / pay for.
Up to my knees in gin & hookers
roge-a-billy

Re: uncorking?

Postby AndyDent » Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:33 pm

e wrote:The Baghira seems pretty peppy to me...but I thought I should ask anyway: Does the Baghira need uncorking?

I had an exchange recently discussing fuel economy with someone who's jetted up their Skorpion Sport - for what gains they have in performance they have lost at least 30% of their fuel economy.

I'm getting around 60mpg with about 50% freeway riding.
AndyDent

Re: uncorking?

Postby whysub01 » Sat Dec 31, 2005 11:59 am

AndyDent wrote:
e wrote:The Baghira seems pretty peppy to me...but I thought I should ask anyway: Does the Baghira need uncorking?

I had an exchange recently discussing fuel economy with someone who's jetted up their Skorpion Sport - for what gains they have in performance they have lost at least 30% of their fuel economy.

I'm getting around 60mpg with about 50% freeway riding.