Scorpion Tour looses power after 2 km drive

Black Panther/Street Moto, Baghira, Enduro, Mastiff, Skorpion Traveller and Tour.

Moderators: DAVID THOMPSON, phlat65

Scorpion Tour looses power after 2 km drive

Postby Henry74 » Tue Sep 15, 2015 2:11 am

Hi all, :smt006
I am new to MZ but not to motorcycles. I just purchased an MZ Scorpion tour with 16000 km. It has been sitting for quite some time at the dealer.
In fact when I went to check it out I brought my own fuel since its tank was dry. I knew the dealer so no big deal there :P
Yesterday I gave it a proper run. It revs clean past 7000 RPM until the ignition unit cut out kicks in. And for the fist 1.5 km or so it does run ok.
approaching the 2 km it looses power (it still revs up to 7000 but it sort of hunts for fuel) it starts to pop too (fuel starvation = leaning out = combustion is not complete in the cylinder,hence it pops).

Then when I stop by the curb it stops completely. I wait 30 sec and it starts again. definitely its a fuel problem. :shock:

Yesterday I took the carb out and noticed that the fuel float stem is cracked. I did repair it successfully with Solder Aluminium.
I need your help guys now.
I heard that there is a small fuel gauze , but I do not know where to find it.
Also what is the float bowl height setting.
what should I look for i.e. I do the general cleaning but is there anything in particular I should look for? :?:

p.s. I need to check the fuel tap too there is a filter if Im not mistaken.

The repair has been done this morning just before going to work, the Solder need a bit of clean up but it is strong :D which I am glad .

You can copy my pic and draw arrows and comments as you wish, I appreciate any help.

best regards Henry from sunny Malta.[size=150][size=150]
[/size]

[/size]
Attachments
Carb.jpg
Henry74

Re: Scorpion Tour looses power after 2 km drive

Postby breakwellmz » Tue Sep 15, 2015 2:37 am

Is the air vent in the fuel filler cap clear?
breakwellmz